The High Court in Sabah and Sarawak
The High Court in Sabah and Sarawak
© Copyright 2006. All rights reserved.
Version 5.0.0 | Supported Browsers: FF 1.5+ & IE 6.0+ | Best viewed in 1024 x 768 screen resolution
World Summit Award (WSA)  Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA)
 High Court Portal

  Sabah Law Courts

  Sarawak Law Courts

 Sabah CMS

 Sarawak CMS

  About The Court


Structure of The Court

Jurisdictions of The Court
  Chief Justice of The Federal Court
  Chief Judge's Chambers

The Chief Judge


Admission Lists

Former Chief Justices
  The Justices
  The Registrar's Office

The Registrar

Roll of Advocates

Practising Certificates
  Practice Directions

Chief Justice of The Federal Court

Chief Judge of High Court Sabah & Sarawak

Chief Registrar of The Federal Court

Registrar of High Court Sabah & Sarawak
  Sabah Law Courts
  Sarawak Law Courts
  Multimedia Gallery


Email Us

Federal Court of Malaysia

Court of Appeal

Federal Attorney General Chambers

Court Addresses

CAP & CMS (Training version) New
The development of the legal system in the States of Sabah and Sarawak can be traced back to the days when Captain James Brooke became the Rajah of Sarawak in 1842, and when the British North Borneo company was granted concessions to much of North Borneo (as Sabah was then known) in 1865. A legal system thus developed with the English principles of law and justice being applied, with modifications to suit the local customs and conditions.

The first judges and magistrates were in fact administrators. The highest court in each territory was the Supreme Court. North Borneo only got its first legally qualified Judicial Commissioner in 1912, a post that was later to be called “Chief Justice”. The territory of Sarawak had its first legally qualified Judge in 1928 in the person of Mr. Justice T.S. Stirling – Boyd. He was the Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court of Sarawak till 1939. This was the period when a proper and systematic legal system based on legal principles was established.

When North Borneo and Sarawak became Crown Colonies after the Second World War, these 2 Borneo territories, together with Brunei, formed a Combined Judiciary. In addition to the High Court a Court of Appeal was also established. The Combined Judiciary was headed by a Chief Justice, the first of whom was Sir Ivor Brace. This system continued until 1963 when North Borneo was renamed Sabah and together with Sarawak, merged with Malaya and Singapore to form the Federation of Malaysia. Brunei’s Judiciary went its separate way.

Under the Malaysian Federal Constitution, the States in Malaya and the Borneon States of Sabah and Sarawak shall have one High Court each, each of co’ordinate jurisdiction and styled the High Court of Malaya and the High Court of Sabah and Sarawak. When the Federation was formed in 1963 each High Court was headed by a Chief Justice. The Chief Justice of the Borneon States is based in Kuching. The titles of “Chief Justices” were later changed to “Chief Judges” in 1994, and the High Court of Borneo, to the High Court in Sabah and Sarawak.